Pantry Cooking: Elderberry Muffins with a crumble topping

I love Elderberries, I always make some elderberry syrup, elderberry jams and of course elderberry tincture for my herbal medicine cabinet. This year I also have dehydrated some wild picked elderberries and it is a good time to try them, with the flu hanging around!

Elderberry Muffins with a crumble

500-600 grams/2-2,5 cups home ground, whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
¼ cup applesauce or oil (I use organic, extra virgin olive oil)
1 cup buttermilk
⅔ cup sugar (or substitute with your favorite sweetener)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups rehydrated (after rehydration it totals 2 cups!) or fresh elderberries when in season, rinsed and drained
1 egg

Crumble Topping
½ cup brown sugar
½ cup almonds ( I had sliced almonds in stock, when you use whole almonds, just cut them into smaller pieces)
¼ cup home ground, whole wheat flour
¼ cup butter

Heat oven to 190 Celsius/ 350 Fahrenheit.
Mix crumble topping ingredients and set aside. Mix dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt) in a large bowl.
In a separate bowl, mix the wet ingredients (applesauce or oil,  buttermilk or whey, sugar and vanilla).
Place elderberries in a small bowl and add enough tablespoons of the flour mixture to coat the elderberries.
Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and stir until the dry ingredients are just moistened. Add the berries. Put the batter into muffin tray and sprinkle with the crumble topping and bake for about 20 minutes.

7 thoughts on “Pantry Cooking: Elderberry Muffins with a crumble topping

  1. Pingback: Checking In, Killdeers and Other Signs of Life « Stone House Road

  2. Gosh this sounds so yummy! And I am very bummed right now, but it seems that maybe I live too far south for Elderberries? I am SE Pennsylvania and have honestly not seen any Elderberries since moving here :( In Switzerland they grew all over. Any Idea if I need to go to the mountains to find me some this year?

    • I am truly sorry, I really have no idea. I am in Europe and you find elderberries everywhere. Best time to look for bushes is when the flowers are blooming. Good luck, if I hear or read something I will surely contact you!

Leave a Reply

