Apples, apples, apples…

A lot of apples. Where I live there are a lot of apple orchards. I am given permission to get fallen fruits and after the last harvest, pick the apples which are still on the branches. It means a lot of free fruits most of it has to be preserved fast. I dehydrate a lot of apples: slices and chunks (for apple pie), make all kind of fruit leathers. I make apple sauce (more a compote like sauce we like the chunks) which I mix also with other fruits like strawberries (pink apple sauce) and pear/apple sauce. I make a lot of juice as well, but tell in another post about the juices!

2 thoughts on “Apples, apples, apples…

    • Oh yes, dehydrating is my favorite way of preserving food! Just buy one and make all your travel mixes yourself, it will be great fun camping with the family and having a pasta and tomato sauce meal ready with just a second!

Leave a Reply

