Food Preservation: Making juice with the steam juicer

I use my steam juicer to make the most delicious home made fruit juices, which we use the whole year round. The steam juicer is very easy to use. It  sits on top of your stove.  It has several tiers.  In the bottom tier, you pour in normal tap water. Above the bottom tear, there is a next tier where the juice is collected. In the top tier you place the fruits, which you have cleaned and if necessairy, peeled and cored. The water in the bottom tier simmers, the steamer tier fills with steam, and the juice from the fruit slowly seeps out of the fruit and drips down into the collection tier. A pipe and a tap come out of this juice collection area and you can fill clean, sterilised bottles straight from this pipe with the hot juice.

There are two ways of saving the juice: by canning or by hot bottling procedure. Here in Europe we have special rubber caps for sealing the juice. There are 2 sizes. I use mostly the size of a regular wine bottle. I have asked everybody to save their empty wine bottles since I ‘don’t drink myself. You need the wine bottles with the cork closure, the screw cap bottle is not good to hold the rubber cap.

The rubber cap is sealing itself vacuum and will keep the juice for more then a year, but most of the time it is finished and I have to limit my children to take juice from the storage all the time:) The bottles on the right are already vacuum sealed and the bottles on the left are just put on.

This year I have been very lucky and I had a lot of free wind fall apples and pears. I also got about 20 kilos (approx. 44 pounds) of strawberries and 40 kilo’s ( about 88 pounds) of goose berries. I also helped a neighbour to prune her grape vines, and I was allowed to keep al the grapes! Of course I did forage some kilo of elderberries as well.

I made this year about 230 wine bottles of mixed fruit juices: apple/pear/grape juice, apple/pear juice, apple/elderberry juice, apple/gooseberry juice, apple/strawberry juice and plain spicy apple juice.

5 thoughts on “Food Preservation: Making juice with the steam juicer

  1. Where do you order your bottle caps? I have had these in the past when I used to live where I could get Concord grapes out western US but now live where it doesn’t grow. If you know of a place that sells the rubber wine bottle caps, let me know.

    Thanks!

  2. I just found your blog. I too am interested in where you get your rubber sealing lids for steamed juices. Please reply. Thanks, Miriam

  3. I have a gallon of Elderberry juice from a steamer and would like to make wine. Can you tell me if I need to add water and/or sugar?

    Thank you!
    Elaine

Leave a Reply

