Pantry Cooking: Easy Corn Bread

Today I ground whole corn kernels with my Fidibus grain mill. I thought it wasn’t possible but in new information I received, it was stated it was possible. So I took the change and got my corn kernels out of the pantry. I think it will be a good storage item to buy whole sale. I run the grains 5 times to the grain mill and ended up with a wonderful flour!

This is my recipe for an easy Corn Bread

150 gram home ground corn meal
2 teaspoons of honey
125 grams of home ground whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sodium bicarbonate
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
250 ml buttermilk (but I also use whey when I have if it left from cheesemaking)
60 grams melted butter

pre heat the oven on 210 Celsius. Butter or oil your baking pan and put some baking sheet on the bottom for easy removal. Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl.  Mix in another bowl the buttermilk, egg, honey and melted butter. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.

Pour the mixture in the prepared pan and bake the bread in 20-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

