Pantry Cooking: Where the West meets the Orient Carrot Soup

I try to eat as local as I can. I moved to this town almost 2 years ago. There is a lot of farming of potatoes, carrots, onions and wheat. All are good storage items. I buy in bulk from the farmers. During my years at the university, I spend during the summers, at least 3 months abroad, mostly in the southern parts of Europe and the Middle East. There I learned a lot about herbs we don’t know here and my interest in cooking with all kind of herbs was a fact. Nowadays I make sure I have a good supply of herbs in stock. I also have a lot of herbs from the Asian continent, which I buy at the oriental supermarkets which you can find in most big cities here. Herbs are a fantastic addition for spicing up simple recipes. In this recipe I use a mixture called Garam Masala, which you can use to give your dishes a curry flavor. Make sure you fry the Garam Masala in some oil to bring out their flavors even more.

Where the West meets the Orient Carrot Soup is a very easy but delicious carrot soup. Wonderful as lunch but also a super easy and fast dinner.

1 quart home canned carrots + one quart of water
2 medium onions, minced
1 or 2 garlic cloves, minced
1 heaping tablespoon of Garam Masala (a yellow curry mix you can buy at most oriental supermarkets)
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tablespoons oil (olive, sunflower or any other neutral oil)

Heat the oil in a frying pan and mix in the onions until they are caramelized. At the garlic and the Garam Masala and keep stirring so the mixture will not burn. Add the carrots and water. Keep stirring until the water boils. Then put the heat on low. The soup is ready when the carrots are soft. Puree the soup in your mixer and serve with some sour cream. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

