Frugal Savings Week 15 – 2014

In the perfect world I would be dancing and singing while doing my chores without any flaws, mistakes or bad luck. Unfortunately I don’t live in such a world. But I do like to sing while I do my chores, dancing only on occasion. Last Saturday when I published the Frugal Savings posts I went to the supermarket to get some strawberries because I knew they were on sale that day. When I came at the counter the strawberries where priced down to 45 euro cents per pound. I bought 45 kilos for 40 euros. I started immediately with dehydrating but I wasn’t able to dehydrate all the boxes because the strawberries where in a worse state then I could see in the shops. Terrible waste but I was able to manage to get most of the strawberries done. They will be fantastic as a snack or in our granola.

breakfast dehydrated strawberries

Home made dehydrated strawberry granola on raw milk yogurt

Every Friday I get my 20 liters raw milk straight from the farmer and did my normal routine. I skimmed of the milk and put the cream in the kitchen aid (yes I cheat) and make butter. But for some reason the cream didn’t turn into butter. I probably I should have let the cream sour a bit more and then make the butter. But I didn’t and ended up with a weird fluid with very small parts of yellow butter in it. I threw it out.
Then I made my cheese. I wanted to make a hard Gouda cheese. I was almost ready to put the cheese in the mold then something came up and I had to leave the cheese. When I returned the cheese was too cold to be pressed. I had a big pan full of crumbly cheese parts. I just put it into a plastic container and into the fridge. I made pizza today and crumbled on the crumbles and the pizza turned out very tasty.

I bought quite a lot of vegetable plants at a nursery, some plants which I wasn’t able to plant but I wanted to eat this or next year. We love artichokes so I bought some. I also bought some rhubarb, my other one died last winter.

I had a bake session: rye whey bread, 5 spice sweet bread, whole wheat plum newtons, granola with our dehydrated strawberries and a lemon, Rosemary and yogurt cake.

This Saturday we went to a flea market (again… the season started and I love flea markets). I bought a couple of kilo of home spun wool for 2 euro. I think it will be enough for a sweater for myself. I love the colour of home spun wool. We bought some books, even a new Gordon Ramsey cookbook. A total of 11 books for 3 euros (the new Ramsey book included!). My youngest bought a bead loom for 20 cents. We bought 2 bird cages for a total of 5 euros. The children have now a small parakeet and they are very happy with their little friend.

five spice sweet bread

the house smelled wonderful after baking this five spice sweet bread

It was a strange week with a lot of unexpected things. Let’s see what next week will bring!

handspun wool

Hand spun wool on the flea market for only 2 euro

 

2 thoughts on “Frugal Savings Week 15 – 2014

Leave a Reply

