Frugal Savings Week 34 – 2014

Sometimes you plan something and it doesn’t work out as you thought it would. I ordered a lot of jars in the beginning of August, thinking they would arrive the end of August. The company of which I ordered, told me I would receive the jars last week. Unfortunately they didn’t keep up their word. But I had already my 90 kilos of organic tomatoes ordered. What to do? I gave some to my mom and sis and kept 60 kilos.

I got the tomatoes and the tomato grower was so nice to give me some ripe and some not so ripe tomatoes. I made 22x 1/2 liter jars of tomato juice. I love taking that with me to work so I made those first. Then I made quarts of tomato juice and I made a couple of liters of hot curry ketchup and roasted ketchup. We love to put that on everything from rice/bean burgers to grilled cheese sandwiches.

I splurged a bit this week and I bought a tomato strainer, finally, after so many years. I am almost done with the tomatoes but what a lot of work that was!

I bought 10 kilo colored carrots 10 euro which I will dehydrate, 20 kilo white grapes 1.80 per kilo (a total of 36 euros) I already dehydrated. We love to eat them as a snack with some raw nuts. I cut up 5 bunches of coriander, bagged it with some olive oil and put it in the freezer. I also bought 20 kilo wild peaches for 24 euro which I shall can in a honey syrup (that is our favorite syrup to can in).

I have been more tired then normal because I am cycling to work now: 25 kilometers back and forth. So getting myself to work at night is a bit difficult. But until now the weather has been wonderful (only one day of heavy rain and I arrived at work soaked). I got my old cassette walkman out of my treasure hunting basket (I put there what I picked up for not a lot of money at flea markets). I bought this Phillips one for only 50 euro cent. Now i can listen to some old cassettes. I want to brush up my Arabic a bit so I am listening to my very old tapes. How much fun is that when I cycle my way home through the polders!

walkman

Remember these?

Leave a Reply

